Leg Workout

Featured imageHey Lovelies, today I’m writing about some of my leg exercises that I love doing and get results from. I change it up quite a lot so sometimes I won’t do all the exercises if I do a circuit. Usually I don’t have a specific leg day, however generally I focus on my legs every session as that is where I get most self conscious about, which is silly, love your bodies ladies. BUT that’s life.

Anyway these are some ideas for you if you want lean muscular legs. I repeat these do not make your legs bulky if your afraid of that, so don’t worry I got your back.

Leg presses – 5 x 20 ( I don’t add any weights as the machine already is 53 kgs which is close enough to my bodyweight. So adjust accordingly to your bodyweight or add on anything up to 20 kgs more than you weigh.)

medicine ball jump in and out squat- 3 x 15 ( I like using a 10 kg medicine ball but obviously adjust until you feel a little challenged but can still complete the exercises with correct form )

Hip raises 3 x 20 with a hold at the top ( Yes I know these are usually seen as a booty exercise but they are great for activating the hamstring. Also who doesn’t want a nice rounded booty?)

Medicine ball squat and overhead press 3 x 20 ( I like either using a 9 or 6 kg ball depending how tired my arms are. Remember to go as low as you can in the squat whilst also squeezing your booty and legs)

Stationary Bike 20 minute power cycle OR 3 x 5 minute hard sprints ( It just depends on how much time you have and if your doing a strength circuit etc. But cycling is a great toning exercise for your legs whilst getting a fantastic cardio workout in)

So there are 5 of my favourite leg exercises that I like to do preferably when I visit the gym as most of these require equipment. They shed off excess fat and build lean strong muscles.

Ladies, don’t be afraid of heavy weights, unless your eating a shit tonne of calories ( im talking 3000 plus) you will not get “bulky” . These exercises will increase your muscle mass and speed up your BMR ( basal metabolic rate) which basically means you get to eat more food as muscle burns more calories than fat.

Enjoy , That Vegan Dancer x

Leave a comment